KP Oli

KP Oli

15 July, Kathmandu: Finally, KP Sharma Oli has been elected Chairman of the CPN (UML) by defeating his rival Madhav Kumar Nepal, a source in the UML confirmed.

Oli secured 1,047 votes while Nepal got 1,003 votes. A total of 2,152 delegates had cast their ballots in the voting.

Both Oli and Nepal had formed separate panels for election in the UML’s ninth national congress.

Similarly, Bamdev Gautam and Bidhya Bhandari from the Oli panel and Bhim Rawal, Ashta Laxmi Shakya and Yubraj Gyawali from the Madhav Kumar Nepal panel were elected as the vice-chairpersons. Rawal bagged 1,143 votes, Gautam 1124, Bhandari 1,100, Gyawali 1,062 and Shakya 1,046 votes.

Vice chairman candidates Pradip Nepal, Rajendra Prasad Pandey, Lalbabu Pandit, Kiran Gurung and Dharmanath Prasad Sah, however, lost the election.

Likewise, Ishwor Pokhrel from the Oli panel was elected in the post of party general secretary securing 1,036 votes by routing his rival Surendra Pandey. Pandey received 1,030 votes.

Similarly, Ghanshyam Bhusal and Bishnu Poudel were elected the deputy general secretaries. They secured 1,097 and 1,082 votes respectively. They defeated Shanker Pokhrel (1,037 votes) and Raghuji Panta (969 votes).

Gokarna Bista (with 1,270 votes), Pradeep Gywali (1,155 votes), Yogesh Bhattarai (1,085 votes), Bhim Prasad Acharya (1,035 votes) and Prithvi Subba Gurung (1,029 votes) were elected party secretaries, according to party Publicity Department Chief Pradeep Kumar Gywali.

Other candidates for party secretaries Parashuram Meghi Gurung (1,015 votes), Bishnu Rimal and Beduram Bhusal with 997 votes, Raghubir Mahaseth (928 votes) and Keshablal Shrestha (922 votes) lost the battle.